2901 Grand Avenue
Butte, Montana 59701

Lobby Hours

9:00am – 4:00pm (Mon-Fri)

Phone Number

(406) 723-8284 


The Butte Community Federal Credit Union (formerly Butte Public Employees FCU) was chartered on January 7, 1970. Initial witnesses to this charter were the following, “Charter Members”.

Staff and Board Members

Cheryl Gund

Head Teller

Ashlee Schmidt

Office Mgr/Loan Officer

Savanna Huff

Member Service Rep.

Jody Chamberlin

Assistant Manager/Loan Officer

Michelle Dorscher

Member Service Rep/Loan Officer

Caitlin Moore

Member Service Rep.

Karen Mandic


Board of Directors

Patrick Kenney


Linda Rosin

1st Vice President

Tim Shea


Will Steyh

2nd Vice President

Karen Mandic


Supervisory (Audit) Committee

Judy Kruzich


Donna Kenney


Marijo MacDonald


Charter Members

Clifford Dean Jr (deceased)

John R. Matulè

Carl J. Hussein

John W. Colvin (deceased)

James I. Killoy (deceased)

Claude James Flynn

Raymond M. Grant (deceased)

Walter J. Erickson

Douglas E. Pappas

On April 27, 2005 the former Butte Public Employees Federal Credit Union received a community charter from NCUA (National Credit Union Administration) to have the ability to serve all residents of Silver Bow County. 

On May 11, 2005 the credit union changed its name to “Butte Community Federal Credit Union”.

On May 21, 2020 the credit union received an expanded community charter to serve Silver Bow, Beaverhead, Madison, Deer Lodge, Powell & Jefferson Counties

Supervisor Committee Duties

  • Make annual comprehensive audits of the credit union policies and procedures established by the Board of Directors.
  • Submit audit reports to the Board of Directors.
  • Verify with members their share and loan balances. This is done at least every 2 years.

Board of Directors

  • Establish policies and procedures to guide the credit union in attaining its objectives.
  • Periodically set loan policies, including interest rates and maximum loan amount along with other credit union policies.
  • Supervise the collection of loans.
  • Declare Dividends.

The credit union idea developed into a reality in late 1969 when then President of the Local Chapter of the Montana Association of Highway Employees, Robert E. Fischer, along with the late Gary B. Haven, John W. Colvin and Clifford Dean Jr., all highway department employees, contacted the Montana Credit Union League for assistance in beginning a credit union. Then league Managing Director, Elroy F. Letcher along with the late Ed Richards of the Safeway Butte Montana Employees Federal Credit Union obliged and held the above chartering meeting at which time our application for Charter was submitted to the “Bureau of Federal Credit Unions”, a private agency of the U. S. Government. The first officers and committee members included.

Credit Committee Members Included:

Donald Braach – Chairman

John H. Colvin – Member (deceased)

Evelyn Trudeau – Member

Board of Directors Included:

James I. Killoy – President (deceased)

Eugene B. Goodland – 1st Vice President (deceased)

Claude J. Flynn – 2nd Vice President

Sandra L. Ivanich – Secretary

John W. Colvin – Treasurer – Manager (deceased)

Credit Committee Members Included:

Donald Braach – Chairman

John H. Colvin – Member (deceased)

Evelyn Trudeau – Member